magenta line

The Metro link between Kalindi Kunj and Botanical Garden in Noida, which is 3.9 km in distance, is all set on track to start next month and it’s a Megenta line.

The Noida authority has asked the Chief Commissioner of Railway Security (CCRS) to start with the inspections while the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) is doing everything possible to commission the track after going through successful trials.

DMRC is holding harsh trials for this magenta metro link between Botanical Garden and Kalinidi Kunj. The interface of this metro will be driverless and that is the reason it is being strictly checked to make sure that during the movement of the train, there is no contravention on the civil infrastructure. Coaches have subsystems which too are being checked.

The new technology of UTO (Unattended Train Operations) enablement will initially operate on this particular line of metro.

These new trains, which are highly automated, are going through conscientious rounds of trials to be completely ready to operate and run smoothly after this corridor is commissioned. Though initially, trains will be run by the trained operators but after some time the UTO mode will take over.

Usually, these trials take just up to two months to complete, but with this new UTO technology this corridor will take up to 5 months for the trials to get completed.
An eye is kept on various things like testing the train at different speeds, the interactivity with the OCC (Operations Control Centre) and the braking of the train. The nature of the system of tracks and OHE (Over-Head Electrification) is also being monitored constantly. These trials have been going on since October last year. CCRS will hold a close inspection as soon as the trials are completed with authenticity. If this inspection goes smoothly, the metro will the approval to roll.

This corridor from Botanical Garden to Kalindi Kunj will have nine elevated stations which are –
• Jasola Vihar
• Kalindi Kunj
• Okhla Bird Sanctuary
• Okhla Vihar
• Shaheen Bagh
• Okhla NSIC
• Kalkaji Mandir
• Sukhdev Vihar
• Jamia Milia Islamia